Pregnant & Working

State of Maryland Commission on Civil Rights

6 Saint Paul Street, Suite 900 Baltimore, MD 21202-1631

Know Your Rights!

If you are pregnant, you have a legal right to a reasonable accommodation if your pregnancy causes or contributes to a disability **and** the accommodation does not impose an undue hardship on your employer. *State Government Article*, \$20-609(b)

What Does That Mean?

If you have a disability that is contributed to or caused by pregnancy, you may request a reasonable accommodation at work. Your employer must explore "all possible means of providing the reasonable accommodation." *State Government Article*, §20-609(d)

The law lists an assortment of options for both you and your employer to consider in order to comply with a request for reasonable accommodation. These include, but are not limited to:

- Changing job duties
- Changing work hours
- Relocation
- Providing mechanical or electrical aids
- Transfers to less strenuous or less hazardous positions
- Providing leave

Every situation is different. You must explore every available option with your employer to decide what accommodation best suits your needs.

Do I Need A Doctor's Note?

It depends on what your employer requests. The law allows an employer, at his or her discretion, to require certification from your health care provider regarding the medical advisability of a reasonable accommodation, but only to the same extent certification is required for other temporary disabilities. *State Government Article*, §20-609(f)

If required, the certification must include:

- Date a reasonable accommodation is medically advisable.
- Probable duration of the accommodation should be provided.
- Explanation as to the medical advisability of the reasonable accommodation.

Can I Still Get In Trouble?

Retaliation is prohibited under *State Government Article,* \$20-609(h) when exercising your rights. If an employee seeks to exercise her right to request a reasonable accommodation for a temporary disability due to pregnancy, an employer may not:

- Interfere with:
- Restrain;
- Deny the exercise; or
- Deny the attempt to exercise the right.

Any form of retaliation is grounds to file a Complaint of Discrimination with the Maryland Commission on Civil Rights (MCCR).

What If I Am A Victim Of Discrimination?

If you believe your rights under the law have been violated, you must file a complaint with MCCR within 300 days of the alleged act of discrimination. A trained Civil Rights Officer will work with you to discuss what happened and determine if there is reason to believe a discriminatory violation occurred. You can reach MCCR by phone, email, fax, letter, or walk-in. All procedures by MCCR are confidential until your case is certified for public hearing or trial.